The Licensure and Certification Criteria Committee (LCCC) is one of the two standing committees of the Delaware Professional Standards Board (PSB). The LCCC is charged with making recommendations to the PSB for developing and amending, as necessary, regulations in the following subject areas:

  • Application requirements for issuance of initial license;
  • Specialists who are applying for initial licenses;
  • Supervised practical experience for specialists in a specialty area equivalent to student teaching for initial licensees;
  • Mentoring activities for initial licensees seeking continued licensure;
  • Initial licensure requirements for applicants with at least 1 year of teaching experience but less than 4 years of teaching experience who are licensed in another jurisdiction;
  • Initial licensure requirements for applicants who previously held a valid Delaware certificate that has since expired;
  • Application requirements for issuance of a continuing license;
  • Mentoring requirements for continuing licensees;
  • Application requirements for issuance of an advance license;
  • Programs equivalent to the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification for advanced licensees;
  • License extensions and freezes;
  • Denial of licenses;
  • Disclosure of criminal conviction history;
  • Application requirements for issuance of a standard certificate;
  • Requirements for standard certificates to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or instruct a particular category of students; and
  • Emergency certificates

LCCC conducts itself in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, the Freedom of Information Act, and the PSB’s procedural rules.