Division I and II Classification

DIAA classifies all schools into Division I that have a DOE certified enrollment count for grades 9 through 12 equal to or greater than the school with the smallest enrollment in either the Blue Hen Conference Flight A or the Henlopen Conference North. That number for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years is 1045. This count consists of all students who, if eligible, would participate at that school, including special needs students. Single gender schools have their total enrollment doubled to determine their final enrollment number. All other schools are classified as Division II.

DIAA conducts State Championships for Division I and Division II in the following sports: football, boys’ and girls’ cross country, dual team wrestling, boys’ and girls’ outdoor track, boys’ soccer, girls’ soccer and field hockey.

The Division I schools for the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 school years are as follows:

Appoquinimink Cape Henlopen Caesar Rodney Charter School of Wilmington
Concord Delcastle Dover Hodgson
Middletown Mount Pleasant Padua (girls) Polytech
Salesianum (boys) Smyrna St. George’s Sussex Central
Sussex Tech William Penn Milford

Football Realignment

DIAA Football Championships will be conducted in a three-tier system which is a change from the two-division format which was has previously been in place.  Schools were placed into three districts and will be competing for three DIAA Football state championships.  Districts were determined by geographic location.  3A Classification will have 11 teams in 2 districts, 2A classification consist of 21 teams in 3 districts and 1A classification will have 14 teams in 2 districts.  The football reclassification allows for more uniformity among schools, provides relief with in-state scheduling, addresses safety concerns, and will increase student athlete participation and interest in football to provide more teams the opportunity to compete competitively.