The Delaware State Educational Support Professional of the Year (ESPY) program is administered by the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE). Each year the program recognizes outstanding service by school employees who provide direct or indirect services to students and their families. The Delaware Charter School Network also is invited to participate. Employees considered for the award include:

  • Paraprofessionals
  • Custodial staff
  • Secretaries
  • Nutritional staff
  • School- and district-employed bus drivers
  • School- and district-employed bus aides
  • IT Support staff

From those nominated at a building level, one educational support professional of the year moves forward to represent each district or the charter school community in the state program. Each district/charter network winner receives a $1,000 personal award from the winner’s district or charter school. The state program then chooses one person annually to serve as Delaware’s Educational Support Professional of the Year. State winners receive an additional $1,500 personal award from DDOE as well as $2,500 to be used for the educational benefit of his or her students.

Regulation 237 – Establishes policies and procedures for Delaware’s annual ESPY award.


2023 Application

Congratulations to the current ESPY, past winners, and nominees!

Award Year 2022

State Winner/Current ESPY – David Thomas, Lake Forest School District, East Elementary School, Computer lab/technology paraprofessional

District/Charter Winners (State Nominees)

Award Year 2021

State Winner – Alice Williams, Christina School District, Jennie E. Smith Elementary School, Senior administrative secretary

District/Charter Winners (State Nominees)

David Thomas is announced as the 2022 Educational Support Professional of the Year.