A Guide to Developmental Screening in Delaware

Pathways to Developmental Screening - Department of Education

Developmental screening is a way of taking a closer look at a child's development. Screening helps to ensure that children are meeting their developmental milestones on schedule. In Delaware, programs that are a part of the Department of Education (DOE), Division of Public Health (DPH), and local hospital systems may screen a child. This table outlines the screening tools used by the Department of Education and explains why they are used.

Overview of screening tools used

Licensed Child Care and State Funded Early Care & Education Programs

Screening Tool

Ages & Stages Questionnaires (ASQ)

Frequency

Following **Title 14, Chapter 30A.**, children are screened upon enrollment and at least once annually during enrollment. Children may be screened more often if needed.

Home Visiting (DOE)

Screening Tool

Ages & Stages
Questionnaires (ASQ)

Frequency

Any child enrolled in the Parents as Teachers (PAT) Home Visiting Program may be screened. The PAT Essential Requirement states that developmental screening should be done within 90 days of enrollment or birth (if enrolled prenatally). Afterwards, a screening is performed annually each program year.

Birth to Three (B23)
Early Intervention Program

Screening Tool

Ages & Stages
Questionnaires (ASQ)

Frequency

There is no set frequency for screenings through B23. Instead, B23 follows a Child Find responsibility under IDEA Part C. See page 2 for more information.

School Districts

Screening Tool

Ages & Stages
Questionnaires (ASQ)

Frequency

Children who attend the school district's certified program are screened upon enrollment and at least once annually during enrollment. Children may be screened more often if needed. See page 2 for more information.







A Guide to Developmental Screening in Delaware

Why do these programs screen?

Licensed Child Care and State Funded Early Care & Education Programs

Title 14, Chapter 30A., otherwise known as The Delaware Child Care Act, outlines the definition and criteria of child care providers. This mandates that all children enrolled in child care (age birth to 5 years, not yet in kindergarten) receive a developmental and social emotional screening with parental consent.

Additionally, these programs follow the Head Start Program Performance Standards (HSPPS: 1302.33) mandates that all children in a Head Start or Head Start Home Visiting program receive a developmental screening.

Home Visiting (DOE)

Home Visiting models align with the state's initiative to screen children in child care.

Birth to Three (B23) Early Intervention Program

B23 Early Intervention
Programs have a Child Find
responsibility under IDEA
(under Part C Section
303.302), which mandates
that all infants and toddlers
with disabilities in the state
who are eligible for early
intervention services are
identified and evaluated.

Section 303.302 (Part C) outlines a comprehensive statewide program of early intervention services for infants and toddlers ages birth to two with disabilities and their families.

School Districts

School districts have a Child Find responsibility under IDEA (under Part B Section 300.111), which mandates that all children with disabilities residing in the state who are in need of special education and related services are identified and evaluated.

Additionally, school certified programs are subject to Title 14 requirements.

More Details

The Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) offers the Ages & Stages Questionnaire (ASQ) screening tools free of charge to all families with children ages birth to five. Parents should always be empowered to complete the screening tool. Note: Children with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) and Individualized Family Service Plans (IFSPs) are exempt under Title 14.





