Public Education Funding Commission Meeting Minutes

April 14, 2025

Location: Virtual Zoom Meeting

The Public Education Funding Commission (PEFC) meeting was held on April 14, 2025, with the following members in attendance:

Cindy Marten, Ruth Ann Miller, Ann Visalli, Laura Sturgeon, Kim Williams, Eric Buckson, Taylor Hawk, Tammy Croce, Kevin Carson, David Tull, Emily Falcon, Sara Hale, Nick Johnson, Rachel Valentin, Jose Aviles Rivera, Evelyn Edney, Crystal Nelson, April Albury-Harmon, Melissa Tracy, Karen Ewing, Heather Hitchens, Cassie Queen, Sarah Celestin, Helen Anderson, Jennifer Fuqua, Britney Mumford, Gary Henry, Madeleine Bayard, Mary Andrews, Marcus Wright, Lisa Lawson

Also participating were Sarah Barzee, WestEd, and Michael Griffith, Learning Policy Institute.

Audio Recording of Meeting

Welcome/Introductions

Senator Sturgeon opened the meeting and asked Anna Sullivan from WestEd to conduct a verbal roll call. Anna confirmed a quorum was present, and the meeting was called to order. The Chair noted that Kevin Long was replacing Kevin Carson and welcomed him to the commission.

Approval of March 10, 2025 Meeting Minutes

The Chair requested a motion to approve the minutes from the March 10, 2025 meeting. Meedra Surratte requested that the minuets be corrected to reflect that Mary Andrews attended the meeting as her designee. The motion was restated with that correction. Marcus Wright motioned to approve and Representative Williams seconded the motion. All members were in favor and the motion carried.

New Business

Senator Sturgeon began by reminding the Commission of the five core values guiding their work. She then introduced Secretary Marten.

Secretary Marten commended the Commission's progress to date and emphasized the need for a funding system that is student-centered, streamlined, and transparent.

Senator Sturgeon then introduced Mike Griffith, who explained that the funding framework being presented was a hybrid model combining elements of the AIR formula and the CFO-developed formula presented and discussed at the December meeting.

Mr. Griffith introduced Commission members Nick Johnson and Emily Falcon to present the hybrid framework.

Mr. Johnson explained that the hybrid model retains some components of the current system but improves flexibility and enables resource allocation on a per-pupil basis. The model consists of three funding tiers:

- Base Tier: A weighted student funding system based on student-to-teacher ratios. As
 the largest source of state funding, this tier is designed to increase flexibility—for
 example, by allowing districts to convert unfilled positions into funds that can support
 students in alternative ways.
- 2. **Supplemental Tier:** Targeted, flexible funding allocated per student, based on individual needs (e.g., multilingual learner status).
- 3. **Concentration Tier:** Per-pupil funding for general operational costs such as energy, curriculum, and technology.

Mr. Johnson emphasized that the model is scalable, requires minimal structural changes at the state level, and could be implemented quickly.

Mr. Griffith noted that further Commission input is needed—particularly on whether the threetier structure should be retained or whether the supplemental and concentration tiers should be combined. Additional feedback is also needed regarding appropriate weights for specific student groups. He reiterated that the hybrid model is a significant simplification of the current state funding formula.

Mr. Griffith clarified that capital funding and transportation are not included in this model and should be addressed separately, possibly in future meetings. He cited several states that use similar funding approaches, including Georgia, Illinois, Idaho, Maine, and Massachusetts.

A facilitated discussion followed the presentation. Mr. Johnson, Ms. Falcon, and Mr. Griffith responded to questions and provided clarifying information as needed.

After the discussion, Secretary Marten confirmed that Mr. Griffith would present a revised version of the formula at the next meeting, incorporating feedback from the Commission. The Chair then asked members to consider the possibility of holding the May 5th meeting in person. She requested that any members unable to attend in person reach out to her directly.

Public Comment

The commission heard public comment from Jenn Cinelli-Miller, Ana Paula Rodriguez, Kendall Massett, Jackie Wager, and Ellen Cappard.

Adjournment

Senator Sturgeon reiterated the "parking lot" items that would be discussed at future meetings including referendum reform, equalization, results of reassessment, tuition tax, and capital funding. She reminded the group that the next meeting would be held virtually on April 28th from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. and reiterated the possibility that the May 5th meeting will be held in-person in Dover. Representative Williams moved to adjourn, and Sarah Celestin seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 6:05 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Anna Sullivan for WestEd