## **School Bus "S" Endorsement Requirements**

Delaware law requires school bus operators to carry a passenger "P" and school bus "S" endorsement on their driver license.

Applicant must complete the <u>DMV Online Criminal History Record Authorization Form</u> (<u>https://cdlis.dmv.de.gov/cdlis/)</u>

## In order to receive the "S" endorsement, the applicant must meet the following requirements:

- 1. Must be at least 18 years of age with 1 year of driving experience.
- 2. Must hold or qualify for a commercial driver's license (CDL) with P (passenger) endorsement.
- 3. May not have more than 5 points on his/her 3-year driving record at the time of the application.
- 4. May not have had his/her license suspended, revoked or disqualified in this State or any other jurisdiction for moving violations in the last 5 years.
  - If you transferred your out of state license to Delaware within the last 5 years, you must provide a certified driving record from your previous state
- 5. The applicant may have never been convicted of any of the following crimes under the laws of this State or of any other jurisdiction:
  - Any crime constituting the manufacture, delivery or possession of a controlled substance or counterfeit controlled substance classified as such in Schedule I, II, III, IV or V of Chapter 47 of Title 16;
  - b. Any crime against a child;
  - c. A or B felony;
  - d. Any crime constituting a felony homicide, including, but not limited to, murder, manslaughter and vehicular homicide;
  - e. Any crime constituting a felony sexual offense;
  - f. Any crime constituting a felony offense against public administration involving bribery, improper influence or abuse of office; or
  - g. Any crime other than those listed above, constituting a felony for which the person has not been pardoned or for which less than 5 years have passed since the person fully discharged all imposed sentences. As used herein, the term "sentence" includes, but is not limited to, all period of modifications of a sentence, probation, parole or suspension and all forms of fines, restitution or community service.

If all of the above qualifications are met, upon receiving DMV's signed approval, the applicant must appear in person at one of the State Bureau of Identification (SBI) locations listed in the attachment to submit the DMV-approved CHRCA form and apply for a criminal history background check. This check shall include

- a national criminal background check
- a review of the applicants' Delaware-based criminal history
- fingerprinting of applicants

The background check expressly authorizes the use of records of the Federal Bureau of Identification for screening applicants. *Background checks are valid for a period of 6 months.* 

6. The applicant must provide proof (yellow card) that he/she successfully completed a training course through the Department of Education (DOE). Contact DOE for instruction to become a school bus driver and for details surrounding training.

7. The applicant must pass a skills/road exam in a school bus administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

## Additional responsibilities a current "S" holder must keep in mind:

- A current "S" holder may not have more than 8 points on his/her 3 year driving record.
- Any time a license with a school bus endorsement is suspended, revoked or disqualified for moving violations, or the driver exceeds 8 points for moving violations, the School Bus Endorsement shall become invalid, and the endorsement shall be removed from the license.

# Directions to Process DMV's Authorization Approval and Complete School Bus Background Check

- 1. If the applicant meets the requirements listed above, they will complete <u>DMV's online Criminal</u> History Record Check Authorization Form (https://cdlis.dmv.de.gov/cdlis/)
  - a. The applicant must provide an email that the signed form can be emailed to. This can be a personal email or their employer's email.
  - b. Please ensure your mailing address is listed properly once the background check is approved, your "S" eligible clearance letter will be mailed to the mailing address provided. (The clearance letter is required to move through the licensing process)
- 2. The applicant will receive their approved authorization form at the email address they provided.
- 3. Print the signed authorization form
- 4. Schedule an appointment with <a href="IdentoGO online">IdentoGO online</a> (<a href="https://uenroll.identogo.com">https://uenroll.identogo.com</a>) or by phone (866) 761-8069. School Bus Drivers must use the following service code to schedule their appointment: 27RX7X (Please see SBI Locations and Hours of Service below)
- 5. Take the approved authorization form to the IdentoGO location
- 6. Process fingerprints at the IdentoGO location
- 7. Once background results are approved, the DMV will mail an eligibility letter to the mailing address that was provided on the Criminal History Record Check Authorization Form.
- 8. The applicant will then provide that eligibility letter to the school district holding their driver file.

## **Background Check Information**

Registration Website:	https://uenroll.identogo.com/
Location Finder (to enter City or Zip Code):	https://www.identogo.com/locations
Delaware State Police Website:	https://dsp.delaware.gov/obtaining-a-certified-criminal- history/
Customer Service Call Center:	(866) 761-8069

**New Price:** \$85.00

Payment Options: Certified/Business Check, Money Orders, or Credit Card

**School Bus Drivers:** You must complete the <u>DMV Criminal Authorization Form first</u> (<a href="https://cdlis.dmv.de.gov/cdlis/">https://cdlis.dmv.de.gov/cdlis/</a>), which you will then take to your background appointment. You will register for this appointment using the code provided by DMV.

**School Bus Aides:** Your employer must provide you with the unique code for the district that will be holding your file. You will then use that code to make your background check appointment.

#### IdentoGo Locations

Appointment registration is required and can be scheduling <u>online at the IdentoGo website</u> (<u>https://uenroll.identogo.com/</u>), or by calling (866) 761-8069. You must have your required code to complete your registration online or by phone.

### **New Castle County**

Middletown - 108 Patriot Dr. Suite A, Middletown, DE 19709

Hours:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Newark - 1 Stephen J Ballard Way, Newark, DE 19702

Hours:

Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM - 11:30 AM Monday - Thursday: 12:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Friday: 12:30 PM - 3:00 PM

Newark - 1201 Chuchmans Road, Newark, DE 19713

Hours:

Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 12:30 - 5:00 PM

Wilmington - 1 River Place, Wilmington, DE 19801

Hours:

Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Monday - Wednesday, Friday: 12:30 PM-4:30 PM

Thursday: 12:30 PM - 6:30 PM

#### **Kent County**

Milford - 800 N. Dupont Hwy. Milford, DE 19963

Hours:

Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Dover - 600 S. Bay Rd., Dover, DE 19901

Hours:

Monday - Thursday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Dover - 124 Green Tree Dr., Dover, DE 19904

Hours:

Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 12:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM

#### **Sussex County**

**Georgetown -** 546 S. Bedford Street, Georgetown, DE 19947

Hours

Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM - 11:30 AM Monday - Thursday: 12:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Friday: 12:30 PM – 3:00 PM

Seaford - 22606 Sussex Highway, Seaford, DE 19973

Hours:

Tuesday - Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM