Delaware Child Care Bonus

for eligible early childhood care and education professionals

Delaware values and appreciates the hard work of our state’s early educators!

As a special thank you for continually supporting young children and their families, Delaware is providing a $1,000 bonus directly to early childhood care and education professionals who work with children in licensed child care settings.

To be eligible for the bonus, professionals must

  • Work directly with children or provide on-site support in a licensed family child care home, large family child care home, early care and education or school-age center in Delaware
  • Work at least 20 hours per week
  • Have worked for at least 90 days at the time of the application
  • Be at least 18 years of age or older

Documentation to prove eligibility and employment is required through an application process. Please note: Professionals will be liable for submitting false information or failing to provide complete information when requested. Funds for this program are provided through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA).

Apply for the bonus

Please note: This bonus is considered taxable income. Taxes will not be withheld from the bonus, but recipients will receive a Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income to submit with their 2022 taxes.

For questions, contact support@welsfoundation.org or call (302) 549-4212 (available Monday – Friday, 8am to 7pm; Saturday, 9am to 5pm).