
 

 

 
 
April 4, 2022 

NFHS Softball Weekly Rule Interpretations 
 
Situation 1: With R1 on second base and no outs, B2 swings and misses a pitch. F2 throws to third 
attempting to make a play on R1 who was stealing on the pitch. F2’s throw hits B2 who: In (a) is 
stationary in the batter’s box (has not moved since swinging at the pitch).  In (b) has moved back toward 
F2 and into the area F2 has thrown the ball but is still within the batter’s box. In (c) is outside the 
batter’s box when contacted with the throw. RULING: In (a) there is no interference. If B2 has not made 
any movement that the umpire judges has hindered F2’s attempt to play on a runner there is no 
interference. In (b) although still in the batter’s box, B2 has made a movement, intentional or not, that 
hindered F2’s attempt to play on R1 and is guilty of interference. In (c) B2 has interfered with F2’s throw 
by stepping out of the batter’s box  (7-4-4). COMMENT: The batter’s box is not a safe haven where the 
batter is free to do what they want and never be guilty of interference. As discussed in (b) if the batter 
moves in a way that the umpire judges the movement interfered with F2’s attempt to play on a runner, 
the batter is guilty of interference even if they remain completely inside the batter’s box.   
 
Situation 2: With R1 on second base and R2 on first base with no outs, B3 hits a ground ball that deflects 
off F6 and R1 could not avoid accidently kicking the ball as she ran to third base. In (a) the ball is still 
within a step and a reach of the spot where F6 made initial contact with the ball. In (b) the ball is farther 
than a step and a reach from the spot where F6 made initial contact with the ball. RULING: In (a) R1 is 
guilty of interference since F6 is still considered to be making an initial play on the batted ball when it 
remains within a step and a reach of the initial point of contact. R1 kicking the ball away from F6 would 
be considered hindering or impeding her ability to make the initial play and results in interference. In (b) 
since the ball is farther than a step and a reach from where F6 made initial contact she is no longer 
considered to be making an initial play on the batted ball. In this case, a fielder has touched the ball and 
in the umpire’s judgement R1 could not avoid contact with the ball so there is no interference.  (2-78-3c, 
8-6-10a, 8-6-12, 8-8-6) 
  
Situation 3: As Team A takes the field, the umpires notice that several players have multiple 
manufactures logos on their uniforms each is less than 2 ¼ square inches and has no dimension 
exceeding 2 ¼ inches. In (a) F1 has manufacturer A’s logo on their jersey, and the same logo on their 
pants and socks. In (b) F3 has manufacturer A’s logo on  their jersey, manufacturer B’s logo on their 
pants and manufacturer C’s logo on their socks. The umpires rule that both of these uniforms are illegal 
and the players are not allowed to play. RULING:  Incorrect ruling. Each item of the players uniform is 
allowed to have a manufactures logo as long as it does not exceed the size requirement (2 ¼ square 
inches and no dimension exceeding 2 ¼ inches). There is no requirement that these logos be the same 
on each item of the uniform. A player is allowed to wear a headband with manufacture A’s logo, a jersey 
with manufacture B’s logo, pants with manufacture C’s logo and socks with manufacture D’s logo. As 
long as these logos each adhere to the size requirements, there is no rule violation. (3-2-3) 
 


