State Association [DIAA] adoption of NFHS playing Rules

DIAA CROSS COUNTRY RULES ADOPTIONS/MODIFICATIONS

- 3-2-1 The administrative body is the games committee. The games committee is responsible for the proper conduct of a track and field or cross country meet. The games committee may consist of:
 - a. An individual (meet director or referee) in dual meets.
 - b. State Association appointed individuals for qualifying and final state meets.
 - c. Selected individuals for large invitational meets.

This committee also may serve as the jury of appeals.

The DIAA Board of Directors has designated the DIAA Cross Country Committee as the games committee for the state meet.

9-2-3 By state association adoption, a modified scoring system may be used.

The DIAA Board of Directors has approved the use of modified scoring in invitational and championship meets so that all schools entered will post a team score regardless of the number of runners who finish. Modified scoring is not permitted in dual or triangular/quadrangular meets which are scored as dual meets. The approved modified scoring procedure is as follows:

If a team has fewer than five (5) runners who finish, the team will be given a "blind" score for each non-finisher. For example, if team A enters only three runners (places 2-9-26) and there are 115 contestants in the race, team A will post a score of 270 (places 2-9-26-116-117).

9-5 A cross country team shall consist of seven members unless otherwise agreed. In meets with four or fewer schools, each school is permitted to enter a maximum of 12 competitors unless otherwise agreed by the competing schools or state association, but only the first seven on each team shall enter into the scoring.

The DIAA Board of Directors has not adopted any guidelines regarding the number of competitors that a school may enter in meets with four or fewer schools. A school may enter a maximum of 12 competitors in such meets unless by mutual agreement of the competing schools, the number of competitors is modified. Regardless of the number of competitors entered, only the first seven runners on each team will determine the team score.