DIAA Announces 2020-21 Dale Farmer State Champions in Sportsmanship Winners

Dover, DE (August 17, 2021) – Eleven (11) Delaware schools are being honored for sportsmanship this week by the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA).

The Dale Farmer State Champions in Sportsmanship award is presented annually to schools that have demonstrated a strong school community commitment to the educational nature of interscholastic athletics.  The 2020 – 2021 Dale Farmer award goes to the following schools:

Brandywine High School (5)

Caesar Rodney High School (11)

Charter School of Wilmington (8)

Conrad School of Science (12)

Middletown High School (5)

McKean High School (12)

Mt. Pleasant High School (5)

Newark Charter School (6)

Sanford School (10)

Sussex Tech High School (15)

William Penn High School (24)

*The number listed beside each school denotes the total number of times the school has won the award 

“These 11 schools truly project the philosophy of education-based athletics by their behavior and actions and demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship programming despite the challenges brought on by COVID-19,” said DIAA Executive Director Donna Polk.  “On behalf of DIAA and DIAA sportsmanship committee, I congratulate each of these school communities for their dedication to the true spirit of sportsmanship.”

Thirty-six (36) member schools have won the award at least once in its 24-year history. For award consideration, schools must submit a portfolio to DIAA. The DIAA sportsmanship committee reviews the school submissions against a set of standards. The process is demanding and involves the total school community.

The Dale Farmer State Champions in Sportsmanship award is named in recognition and memory of Dale Farmer, the first executive director of DIAA and the 2016 recipient of the DIAA Lifetime Achievement Award.

For media inquiries contact Alison May at Alison.may@doe.k12.de.us.

For more information, contact DIAA at 302-857-3365.

Go to Top